Lightening Strikes, Maybe Once, Maybe Twice…

Title This

Psst, wanna know something way cool?

Do ya?

Do ya, now?

I GOT THE AUTHOR/FINAL PROOF COPY OF ALL THAT GLITTERS! On my birthday no less, which is so fitting and such an awesome present.

Ta-da! Dog not included. Neither is the girlfriend, who was very intensely watching the Bears VS. Packers football game when this was snapped. It is so cool to see my book in, well, book format! I have to proof that copy for any last-minute errors, misspellings, formatting issues, etc once more before it’s ready to go. I got through the first couple of chapters last night and couldn’t help but feel absolutely elated at reading this super familiar story in an entirely new format. I was so used to squinting at it in Word and poring over the pages on my computer that reading it in paperback form is so new and so indescribably cool that I can hardly contain myself. It’s good to see your work progress.

Reading it in paperback form does also alert you to small nuances that I don’t normally pick up on (for whatever reason) when working in Word. I don’t want All That Glitters to be anything less than perfect in my eyes when it is released, so I’m already hard at work with my black pen for one final round of editing.

That said, I thought I would take a break from the usual stuff and share how I FINALLY decided on All That Glitters as its title. Every writer has something, right? Some aspect of writing, creating and weaving together that just isn’t their strength. For a lot of people, it’s editing. For others, it’s grammar or formatting or some other necessary aspect of writing that just isn’t as fun or interesting as story-telling and characterization. My own particular “thing” is titling. Yes, you read that right – Thinking of a title for my book.

It seems really easy, right? In fact, a lot of writers I know go into writing their books with a few different working titles already in mind. That makes me jealous – I wish I could write like that! The title is the very last thing I ever add after finishing the initial draft. It’s something I avoid until the very end, when it becomes blatantly necessary to have this giant Word document named something appropriately fitting. Until that point, it sits on my Mac saved as the main character’s first name until I think of a “real” title.

Seriously – My desktop looks like that of either a serious stalker’s or, at the very least, someone that HASN’T been in a relationship for over 5 years. It’s littered with documents titled “Josie”, “Holly” and, until recently, “Michelle and Alexis”.

All That Glitters went through several titles, all of which I was kind of “Meh” on. They were okay. They weren’t terrible, but they weren’t awesome. I figured they described the gist of the book well enough and I shrugged it off, hoping that lightning would strike (okay, not literally) before I published.

Lightning always seems to strike me at the most random, weird times. You know how when you’re trying to remember something and someone will usually say, “Oh, just stop thinking about it. It’ll come to you at 3 AM” or something along those lines? That’s pretty much what I did – I stopped thinking so hard about it and had nearly settled on a title that I wasn’t completely sold on but figured was better than anything else. UNTIL All That Glitters came to me in the form of (wait for it)…a cheesy 1980’s pop/dance song!

Okay, go with me on this. I tend to have a VERY eclectic taste in music and my iPod is usually where old songs and one-hit wonders from decades past go to officially die. From Marilyn Manson and Nirvana to “Call Me Maybe” and Cyndi Lauper, I literally never know what might come up on its shuffle. So, I was driving to work one morning and decided to play my usual on-the-way-to-the-office playlist – Full of happy, upbeat music and cheesy dance tunes to wake me up and put a smile on my face. And then the clouds parted, the rain stopped, birds began chirping and THIS came pouring out of my car speakers:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Au5_joY1MNA

(Apparently I do not have the video upgrade on my WordPress account. Whatever. I encourage you to click that link and enjoy the best…or worst…of what the ’80s had to offer.)

My older sister gave me a Cover Girls cassette tape (!!) when I got my first Walkman. I’m pretty sure she gave it to me so she wouldn’t have to listen to me the entire 2-day trip from Chicago to Florida for our annual family vacation, but I digress. I listened to the tape over and over and over again…Because it was the only tape I had to listen to in my Walkman.

A few years ago, I came across the song while in a YouTube rabbit hole (you know – when you log on to check out ONE song and then TWENTY songs later, you’re still watching videos and singing along). I was like, “Hey, I know that song!” and for laughs and nostalgia, I added it to my iPod and promptly forgot about it again. Until, of course, that morning drive to the office…

And the rest, as they say, is history. Thank you, Cover Girls. Some people have epiphanies after soul-searching or some type of major life situation. Mine comes after listening to a cheesy 80’s pop/dance song. Oh well. The full phrase itself – “All that glitters isn’t gold” – perfectly describes the general sentiment of the book and the lessons learned once that realization sets in. As soon as I said the title in my mind, it stuck. I knew that THIS was the title. So, some peoples’ lightning might take different form or shape, but I’m glad my lightning came at all. It was just the push I needed to make sure this book sees publication – And it will very soon!

8 responses

  1. Hello,
    Just letting you know that I’ve nominated you for One Lovely Blogger Award.
    Check it out http://thejennymacbookblog.wordpress.com/

    September 14, 2012 at 9:38 PM

    • Wow, thank you! I am out of town and “unplugged” this weekend, but I will definitely be re-blogging this when I get back. Thanks for reading! I look forward to connecting in the future.

      September 15, 2012 at 10:41 PM

      • Alright sounds good and congrats 🙂

        September 15, 2012 at 10:43 PM

  2. Hello!

    I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. Click here to find the rules to accept the nomination: http://spilledxink.wordpress.com/

    September 15, 2012 at 2:36 PM

    • This is way awesome – Thank you, ladies! Once I am back in town and plugged in again, I will be re-blogging. Yay, thanks for the reads and the shout-outs!

      September 15, 2012 at 10:43 PM

  3. Congratulations on that proof copy, it looks fabulous!
    I had to laugh when reading about your stalker-like desktop, because I do exactly the same. I have scores of documents titled with names and you’re right – for an uninitiated viewer it would probably look all kinds of creepy! 🙂

    September 16, 2012 at 11:57 AM

    • Thank you! I can’t wait to get it released after proofing this final copy! I’m so glad I’m not the only one that does that with untitled works in progress – LOL. Just have to laugh at yourself sometimes, you know?! 🙂

      September 16, 2012 at 1:36 PM

  4. Pingback: The Next Big Thing (A Blog Hop Post) « ThisIsAshleyQuinn

Leave a Reply

